Page 1 of 1

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2007 1:24 pm
by kirkjerk
(crossposted from a different topic)

So just to see something happening, I grabbed the large1.bmp from PocketC distribution, and then used @licon1 (and even 2 through 16) to try and load it. I know it's *sort of* aware of it, because if I get the filename wrong it complains So just to see something happening, I grabbed the large1.bmp from PocketC distribution, and then used @licon1 (and even 2 through 16) to try and load it. I know it's *sort of* aware of it, because if I get the filename wrong it complains that it can't find, but on both the Palm Simulator and my handheld, the result isn't the Orbworks mountain but that same default "pen over blue circle" icon... what gives?

also, is @licon1 and @sicon1 the only ones I have to specify, and higher-color devices will default to it?

Thanks!

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2007 4:51 pm
by Percival
Have you tried it on a Palm Emulator (with PalmOS 4 of lower)?
My guess is that you also need to specify a high-density icon using e.g. @licon8h and @sicon8h.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 3:49 pm
by kirkjerk
I've only tried it on the default ROM of the Palm Simulator, might be kind of recent.

I did specify the higher-density images... but I just passed them in the low density bmps. could that be a problem?

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 6:31 pm
by Percival
<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by kirkjerk</i>
I did specify the higher-density images... but I just passed them in the low density bmps. could that be a problem?
<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">
Weird, I just tried that and it won't even compile.

I downloaded the PDE demo to try this out:
Code: Select all
// Hello, World

@cid "MyAp";
@name "My App";
@dbname "MyApp";
@ver "1.0";
@licon1 "large1.bmp";
@sicon1 "small1.bmp";

main() {
   alert("Hello, World");
}

And the icon shows up just fine (with the mountain icon).

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:21 pm
by kirkjerk
Ok, looks like the problem was not having an small icon.

That's one thing where the desktop stumbles a little, useful error messages for some of those preprocessor things...